Casting “Steel Magnolias”

It was reported this week that “Steel Magnolia” is the latest film getting the remake treatment. It was announced that Lifetime will be producing an all-black version of the 1989 classic that starred a young Julia Roberts.

As reported by Deadline.com, director Kenny Leon has signed on to direct the movie.
I must admit, I am a little over all the remakes. But this is one that really caught my attention. I loved the original film. And I think that Lifetime has really stepped up its game in the movie department. I am very interested in seeing how the made for TV version of Steel Magnolias will be cast. So in the spirit of southern hospitality, I have decided to help the folks at Lifetime out by giving them some of my suggestions. So I hope you’re listening Lifetime.

M’Lynn Eatenton : Sally Field’s unforgettable portrayal of M’Lynn, the heart of the group will be hard to top. The actress who gets the role needs to possess the matriarchal strength to anchor that cast, but also a flair of southern charm. I’m sure that many will automatically go to Angela Basset for the role, but I believe that Lynn Whitfied is the way to go. In my opinion, the Louisiana native is one of the most underrated actresses in Hollywood. I believe this role could be a great opportunity for Whitfield to play opposite the snobby socialite that she does so well.


Shelby Eatenton Latcherie: Julia Roberts, in one of her early movie roles, stole our hearts as Shelby. Roberts was even nominated for her first Oscar for her portrayal. So needless to say, the actress who wins this role has some pretty big shoes to fill. I know that Jurnee Smollet would be amazing as Shelby. She embodies the tough as nails spirit of Shelby but also the endearing vulnerability that made us
fall in love with the character.


Truvy Jones: The always over the top Dolly Parton played Truvy, the owner of the hair salon that serves as a gathering place for the women. My first and only choice is Loretta Devine. No explanation necessary.

Annelle Dupuy Desoto: Casting the role of Annelle was the most difficult for me. Darryl Hannah shined as the plain Jane who blossomed during her journey. The actress who takes on the role has to be a chameleon. So after much thought, I think that Joy Bryant is my Annelle.


Ouiser Boudreaux: I think Viola Davis would be stellar as the caustic, seemingly bitter, but lovabale and endearing widow Ouiser. The role was originated by the incomparable Shirley MacLaine. I would love to see Davis deliver some of the hilarious one liners courtesy of Ouiser. In addition to playing the role to perfection, I also think Davis would make an excellent foil for the actress I think should play Clairee.
Clairee Belcher: Phylicia Rashad is my first choice, hands down. Like Olympia Dukakis who originated the role in the film, Rashard has a vibrant personality that shines on camera. She also has worked with director Kenny Leon before, when he directed her in the television adaptation of A Raisin In The Sun.

Below is the trailer from the original 1989 movie. Check it out:

One thought on “Casting “Steel Magnolias”

Leave a comment